Excellence Awards Committee

Chairman:   Lilybeth Soto

Co-Chair:   Romeo Albornoz and Liezel DeLeon

Member:  Ivy Ballesteros, Alona Flores and Lailani Divina


FUNCTIONS of Excellence Awards Committee:

  • Plan for the Annual Nursing Excellence Award Ceremony of PNASA.

  • Establish selection criteria for the Excellence Awards.

  • Submit nominations for Excellence Awards to PNAA and other awards programs from various professional associations.

  • In collaboration with the Nominations and Elections Committee, plan for the awarding ceremony and Induction of the incoming Executive Board.


1st Nursing Excellence Award

Dec. 2012

Josie Schantz, MSN, RN-BC, WCC

Elcee Cortez, BSN, RN

Myra Montenegro, BSN, RN

Odette Denisa Farias, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC

Maryson Lopez, BSN, RN

Elvira De Jesus, RN, CNSPMH-BC



4th Nursing Excellence Award

  Dec. 2015

Judith Evans,  BS, RN

Lailani Divina, BSN, RN

Jessa Mae Perez, MSN, RN

Lilia Cenadoza, BSN, RN

Cecile Ferrer, BSN, RN

Albert Tarriela, BSN, RN


2nd Nursing Excellence Award

  Dec. 2013

Ma. Danet Lapiz-Bluhm, PhD, RN

Marietta Dela Cruz, BSN, RN

Ruth Newland, BSN, RN

Salvacion Guillao, BSN, RN-BC

Ronald Estrella, BSN, RN, CCRN

3rd Nursing Excellence Award                    Dec. 2014

Maria Roselia Cabagay, BSN, RN, CMSRN

Crisostomo Cabagay, BSN, RN, CCRN

Aura Casabar, BSN, RN

Odette Denisa Farias, MSN, RN, ACNP-BC

Hedda Gonzalez, BSN, RN

Jane Neri, MSN, RN

Gertrude Umaming, RN, CRRN

5th Nursing Excellence Award

  Dec. 17, 2016

6th Nursing Excellence Award

  May 2018

7th Nursing Excellence Award

  May  18, 2019

                                                    THE PNASA  COMMITMENT                                                                                                                   by Aura Casabar, BSN, RN, CCM

  Over a quarter of a century, PNASA has made strong sustained strides towards increasing and serving its membership. It is accessible through its website: mypnasatx.org, email: mypnasa@hotmail.com, Facebook, and twitter.                                                                                                                                                                NURSING EXCELLENCE and SCHOLARSHIPS

PNASA promotes career advancements towards attaining the highest standards of nursing and continues to award scholarships to deserving undergraduate and graduate nursing students. It recognizes achievements and excellence of nurses in their fields of expertise. At least 25 awards and 30 recognitions have been given in previous years. A new group of nurses will be recognized at the Annual Nursing Excellence and Scholarship Awards during Nurses’ Week in May 2018. 


In 2015, PNASA spearheaded by then President-Elect Danet Lapiz-Bluhm, partnered with the University of Texas Health San Antonio School of Nursing in their Scholarship program.                                                                               

We encourage PNASA members to avail of this membership benefit as they or family members pursue higher learning in the field of nursing. 


2018 Nursing Excellence and Scholarship Luncheon

Inducting Officer Dr Tommye Austin with incoming PNASA Executive Board 2018-2020. 

Not in picture:  President-Elect Golda Manalili,  Secretary Liezl De Leon and Assistant Secretary Kathleen Castro

Event Chair: Ella Tuazon (seated Lt) with Committeee members Elcee Cortez ( seated Rt) and Marietta Dela Cruz (standing Rt) and outgoing PNASA President              Dr Danet Lapiz-Bluhm( standing Lt)

Guest Speaker Justice Patricia Alvarez, Court of Appeals 4rth District with outgoing PNASA President Dr Danet Lapiz-Bluhm.

Emcees: Ma. Roselle Sardonas and Albert Tarriella

 PNASA website Sept 2014

created by Au and Mayet 

  Mail: P.O. BOX 40542  San Antonio, Texas 78229